Aims to enable Bangladeshi and BAME women in the Bethnal Green area to improve their quality of life, participate fully in society and reach their full potential

Management of Structure


GBMS is accountable to the women in the community it serves; they benefit from services and make up the membership.

GMBS has a total membership of 450 women.

General membership is open to any female over the age of 18 living in Bethnal Green. However, only members who have completed 12 months membership period are eligible to stand for MC position and/or can vote at special general meetings and the annual general meeting.

Management Committee 

Overall responsibility for the organisation is assumed by the Management Committee (MC) which is representative of the client group of GBMS and elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM).

The MC meets monthly to discuss the overall strategy and policies of GBMS. It makes decisions based upon information which is presented by the staff and volunteers who manage and monitor the activities of all GBMS’s current Project work.

We encourage local women to serve on the Management Committee - this includes service users and ex-service users who have been empowered as well as the wider community.

Management Committee - Officers

Chair: Mrs Meherun Nessa

A founder of GBMS and long standing community worker who has made a significant contribution to the development and regeneration of the local area over many years of service. Also campaigned for equal rights and promoted women rights. She is responsible for chairing meetings of the Management Committee and ensures that the MC is equipped to make decisions necessary for the organization’s work.

Secretary: Rana Begum

A local woman who has used our domestic violence support and ESOL programme, gained ensuing benefits and now makes contributions to GBMS from a user’s viewpoint. She is responsible for organising meetings, taking minutes at meetings, administrative tasks and charitable compliance.

Treasurer: Dilara Begum

Management Committee - Members

Rabia Begum

Nurun Nahar Chowdhury

Rushna Khanom

Minara Begum

Afia Begum

Nasema Begum

Shakera Akhter

Norryman Iqbal